A Love for Tomorrow by Vanessa Miller


A Love for Tomorrow


Read from August 10 to November 03, 2010
Vanessa Miller’s Second Chance Series, book 2, “A Love for Tomorrow” is one of my favorite reads of the series thus far. There are several valuable lessons to be learned in this novel.

Serenity Williams and Michael Randolph dated for five years, had marriage plans for the last three years of the five years in the relationship that went sour because of his ego-driven motives and persona for his church ministry. This divided the couple to go their separate ways. Later, Michael wants an interview on Serenity’s televised ministry program and also announces his new marriage plans to Karen. Karen is the opposite of Serenity, who will not challenge Michael’s competitiveness or someone that will overshadow him and his ministry like he feared Serenity would. Serenity once asked herself while in the relationship and after meeting Pastor Phillip McKnight, “How long do you have to wait on God to work on somebody?” Yet, we have to work on ourselves, not asking God to change someone else to meet our own agenda.

Serenity knew since a young girl that God called her to minister the gospel to many, yet she started a TV ministry based on her own understanding instead of becoming a Pastor in which is her true calling. Like most of us, she allowed fear to take hold of her true ministry by being cautious of not undergoing disappointments and losing church members like her father and brother did as pastors. She also is afraid of developing meaningful relationships. Not only does Serenity fear “intimacy” with God, but also walking into her destiny.

Serenity Williams and Pastor Phillip McKnight are facing past relationships that require healing, restoring, and allow the Holy Spirit move in their situations by letting go and let Him perform miracles in their lives. Pastor Phillip McKnight has to let go of his past marriage, ex-wife Chantel, and a love before he came to Christ, and seek closure of this old relationship before moving into a new one. Serenity has waited on a man she believed was her husband. Michael only reminded her of his position in the Christian ministry, not wanting her to overstep him although she’s anointed with God-given gifts and abilities for the occasion. These two, Serenity and Phillip, see how their past lovers get involved with another person to replace them to meet their own needs, or trying to come back in their life when things look promising for them. I enjoyed reading this novel because this couple has a chance for love regardless of their past choices, past relationships, and past desires. We change when we look at things differently and accept our calling.

We received a copy of the book from the author via interview and review is included for promotional purposes.

Dream 4 More Reviews rated it 4 of 5 stars false

Dream 4 More Reviews,
Sweet Dreams
Adrienna Turner

About the Author

Vanessa Miller

Vanessa Miller of Dayton, Ohio, is a best-selling author, playwright, and motivational speaker. Her stage productions include: Get You Some Business, Don’t Turn Your Back on God, and Can’t You Hear Them Crying. Vanessa is currently in the process of turning the novels in the Rain Series into stage productions.

Vanessa has been writing since she was a young child. When she wasn’t writing poetry, short stories, stage plays and novels, reading great books consumed her free time. However, it wasn’t until she committed her life to the Lord in 1994 that she realized all gifts and anointing come from God. She then set out to write redemption stories that glorify God.

To date, Vanessa has completed the Rain and Storm Series. She is currently working on the Forsaken series, Second Chance at Love series and a single title, Long Time Coming. Vanessa believes that each book will touch readers across the country in a special way. It is, after all, her God-given destiny to write and produce plays and novels that bring deliverance to God’s people. These books have received rave reviews, winning Best Christian Fiction Awards and topping numerous Bestseller’s lists.

Best Christian Fiction Mahogany Award 2003
Red Rose Award for Excellence in Christian Fiction 2004
Nominated for the NAACP Image Award (Christian Fiction) 2004
Essence Bestseller’s List March 2008; May 2008 (Former Rain)
Essence Bestseller’s List September 2008 (Rain Storm)
Black Expressions Book Club Alternate Selection 2007, 2008 & 2009.
Vanessa originally self-published, then in 2006 she signed a five-book deal with Urban Christian/Kensington. Her books can now be found in Wal-Mart, and almost all major bookstores, including African American bookstores and online bookstores such as Amazon.com.

Vanessa is a dedicated Christian and devoted mother. She graduated from Capital University with a degree in Organizational Communication. In 2007, Vanessa was ordained by her church as an exhorter. Vanessa believes this was the right position for her because God has called her to exhort readers and to help them rediscover their place with the Lord.